Shoppingjeannie's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese and cooking

I love cheese and have been using my household as guinea pigs for a good quality budget friendly Parmigiano-Reggiano.

First let me say after trying every cheap version on my local market that I could find, I came back to my/our ultimate favorite and $12.98 per pound version. Now, let me tell you why.

After learning as much as I could about parmigiano-reggiano and it’s aging process, flavor and ability to last forever I have come back to my/our much beloved Il Villaggio brand with the gold label seal and red bands.
You simply cannot go wrong with this brand and when my little 74 year old Italian neighbor and best friend agreed with me I knew I had it right. I use it for everything that needs that’s little something extra and not salt.

It adds flavor to my sauces red and white, gravies, thickens my soups and stews, goes well with my simple olive oil and vinegar salad dressing and just makes my simple salads taste oh so much better.

I buy it by the wedge and usually spend about $7.50 to $12 per wedge. Now you might think, good grief that’s expensive and out of my budget however; that wedge of cheese will keep for weeks into months and you will be shocked how many dishes you can use it in.

I put it in eggs with some milk or half-an-half and scramble them up and serve them with an English muffin and everyone in my house loves it. It’s simple and needs no salt due to the cheese. I save the rinds and freeze them in Ziploc bags and when I need something extra for flavor or thickening in soups or stews I just put a rind in the pot when it comes to a boil and as the meal cooks it slowly melts the rind and all the wonderful flavors meld and it turns the most common dish into a wonderful taste sensation and I don’t waste any of the pricey cheese.  

I find that for our family of 4 a nice wedge of parmigiano-reggiano will last through weeks of dishes. You don’t need a lot of it to get the bang for your buck and when you consider the rinds are usable and freezable it will last you even longer.

December 21, 2010 - Posted by | Food and Cooking, Life

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

