Shoppingjeannie's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Things you can do with a shop-vac

Due to my back problems there are some things that I have just had to come up with other ways to get them accomplished.

I have learned that our new shop-vac purchased on a wonderful Black Friday sale is my new best friend. Why you may ask? Here are just a few of the things I have used that wonderful vac for:

1. makes the best leaf blower ever (spent $28.88 on 16 gal shop-vac using elect)
2. cleaned the screen down in our dishwasher when it stopped washing due to junk in the screen (saved $150 on repair)
3. cleaned our ceiling fan of all dust (saved $$$$ on not having to take medications since dust makes my head slam shut)
4. cleans back porch when I’m not up to sweeping
5. sucks out whatever is stuck in my kitchen drain and causes a mega-mess a few times a year (saves $200 on plumbing repair)
6. sucks up all the cobwebs from the garage ceiling that I otherwise can not get to

I will post more items as we think of them and find more uses for it but, so far that little purchase has paid for itself.

January 17, 2011 - Posted by | Life

3 Comments »

  1. they can suck up anything your kids leave on the floor too ,think of all those tiny toys that really bug women when cleaning up ,lego ,polly pockets ,hot wheels ,barbie shoes were the real killers with my upright ,I know I’m mean mummy !

    Comment by christine | June 29, 2011 | Reply

    • Don’t feel bad, I do the same thing. Stepping on those items with all my back problems is a real killer. There is no faster way to wrench out your spine than walking in your little ones room and finding everything small and pointy they didn’t pick up with your feet. I vac them up and then if the kids want the items I have them go through the tub and pick them out and put them away. If they are not interested when I offer, it all goes in the trash.

      Comment by shoppingjeannie | June 30, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thank god Its great to know I’m not the only one who sucks up toys on purpose ,I use a 16 gallon with a modified 3 inch hose ,so I can pretty much suck up anything ,I’ve even had a whole barbie doll go up the hose ffffuummmphh !

    Comment by christine | July 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

